July 15, 2024


Exercise makes you strong

Hunter Dickinson named Michigan men’s basketball team MVP

In what should not be a substantial surprise, Hunter Dickinson was named Most Precious Participant of the Michigan men’s basketball staff throughout the 2021-22 season.

The honor was unveiled Wednesday through the team’s postseason celebration, wherever the sophomore heart and senior guard Eli Brooks mixed for 7 of the 12 awards handed out.

Michigan is coming off a 19-15 season highlighted by an unexpected operate to the NCAA Tournament’s Sweet 16.

Dickinson led the workforce in scoring (18.6 points for every activity) and rebounding (8.6) for a second straight season, garnering 2nd-workforce all-Significant 10 honors. He was also named Michigan’s Most Improved Player and awarded the team’s rebounding award.

Meanwhile, Brooks — Michigan’s lone captain — was named staff Defensive Player of the Calendar year, in addition to earning a management, iron man and an award for most superb free of charge-throw shooter.

Much more: NBA draft choices looming for Michigan basketball trio

Brooks departs the plan as its all-time chief in video games performed (159) and occupation wins (124), obtaining capitalized on an additional year granted to all college student-athletes from the pandemic-shortened 2020 period. He averaged a career-greatest 12.8 factors and 3.7 rebounds this past time on 56 manufactured 3-place baskets, even though introducing 40 steals.

Somewhere else, sophomore forward Terrance Williams II was named Michigan’s Sixth Guy of the Yr. Williams averaged 4.7 factors per match and hit 20 3-position baskets off the bench for the Wolverines, who benefitted from his important minutes in late-time wins in excess of Ohio State and Tennessee.

2022 Michigan Men’s Basketball Awards:

• Monthly bill Buntin Most Useful Participant: Hunter Dickinson

• Wayman Britt Excellent Defensive Player: Eli Brooks

• Travis Conlan Sportsmanship Award: Adrien Nunez

• Rudy Tomjanovich Most Improved Participant: Hunter Dickinson

• Sixth Person Award: Terrance Williams II

• Steve Grote Hustle Award: Jace Howard & Moussa Diabate

• Thad Garner Management Award: Eli Brooks

• Iron Gentleman Award: Eli Brooks (35.9 mpg)

• Award for Exceptional No cost Throw Shooting: Eli Brooks (87.7 p.c 71-for-81)

• Morgan/Bodnar Brothers Award for Educational Accomplishment: Frankie Collins

• Gary Grant Award for Most Assists: DeVante’ Jones (4.6 apg 151 helps)

• Loy Vaught Rebounding Award: Hunter Dickinson (8.6 rpg)